By Joseph Ruttle, Published May 05, 2023

Three journalists for The Vancouver Sun and The Province have won the prestigious National Newspaper Award in a new special-topic category, for their series on the dual threat of flooding and fires in B.C.

Gordon Hoekstra, Glenda Luymes and Nathan Griffiths collaborated on the series that put a timely lens on B.C.’s inadequate preparations against the climate crisis.

The trio’s data-driven investigation delved into the readiness of B.C. communities for a world of increasing fires and floods.

Read full story here

See the list of winners and nominees here